top of page

Keto Buffalo Chicken Tenders


Ever have the urge to eat something mouth-watering? It can be difficult to satisfy that craving unless you can identify what the craving is for. If you're like me, most of the time it is sugar or chocolate. Oh . . . I CANNOT get enough chocolate!😁 Well, last night I tried a new recipe, since I haven't had buffalo chicken tenders in a VERY LONG TIME! This recipe was worth it and met EVERY mouth-watering need I had.


Now, anytime I use a recipe, I'm always making tweaks. One of the first things I did was to look up a video on how to properly cut chicken tenderloins. I got tired of trying to figure it out on my own and thought I needed a little professional advice. Martha Stewart did an "okay" job on the PBS channel, but I thought Chef Nigel Hunter did a better job on "how" to cut the chicken. He talks a little too much in my opinion, so I skipped ahead to the part I needed.

The next thing I did was to change the buffalo sauce. KetoConnect.net uses a pre-made sauce that she lists on her website. Sometimes I need something easy, so my go-to buffalo sauce is Frank's RedHot Buffalo Sauce. If you are sensitive to milk, then this sauce would be GREAT to use. It does use butter, but it beats using a sauce where one of the main ingredients is milk.


The next change I made was to make the chicken crispy. I followed KetoConnet.net's advice on putting the oven on broil for the last few minutes. I had checked mine every five minutes and after about 10 minutes or so, it was perfect. I then let the tenders rest until I was done checking the sides I was making and then coat the strips in the buffalo sauce as we ate. That way the tenders didn't end up soggy. No one lies a soggy chicken strip!😝



Keto Buffalo Chicken Tenders

Created by KetoConnect.com

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  2. Season chicken tenders with salt and pepper. Season the almond flour generously with salt and pepper.

  3. Beat 1 egg together with 1 tbsp of heavy cream.

  4. Dip each tender first in the egg wash and then into the seasoned almond flour. We like to place the tenders in a Tupperware container with the almond flour and shake to coat. A Ziploc bag also works well.

  5. Place tenders on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake for 30 minutes. If they are not as crispy as you would like you can additionally broil them for 2-3 minutes.

  6. Allow tenders to cool for 5 minutes and then place them in a tupperware container, add the buffalo sauce and shake to coat. Gently shaking is best to prevent the batter from falling off.

*Indicates a personal change made from the original recipe


So, here's hoping you enjoy this recipe as much as my family and I did last night!

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page